Nilgiri Mountain Railway

Nilgiri mountain railway started in the 1908 by British Government. This railway trip is very famous and most attracted item in the ooty trip. This railway controlled by southern railway.

Nilgiri Mountain Railway

In July 2005 UNESCO added the Nilgiri Mountain Railway as World Heritage site. Between Mettupalayam and coonoor is rack railway. This railway is only one rack railway in India.

Ooty Train Ticket Fare

Ticket fare for second class is 35 rupees and first class ticket is 200 rupees it can be booked in online. Try to book a online ticket to avoid the difficult.

Because to take second class ticket to need to wait in a queue. If you get window seat it will be good otherwise you will not able to see all beauty.

Train Route

Mettupalayam – Kallar – Adderly – Hillgrove – Runneymede – Kateri Road – Coonoor – Wellington – Aravankadu – Ketti – Lovedale – Fernhill – Udhagamandalam.

Journey Timing:

Uphills journey takes around 4.8 hrs and Downhills journey take around 3.6 hrs.

Thank you for reading this post. if you like this post share with your friends.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe For Latest Updates

You have successfully subscribed to the newsletter

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Sutrula Thalangal will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.